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[Title 86 Part 500 Section 500.320 Single Trip Permits

TITLE 86: REVENUE
CHAPTER I: DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

PART 500
MOTOR FUEL TAX

SUBPART C: MOTOR FUEL USE TAX

Section 500.320 Single Trip Permits

a)

b)

d)

If a commercial motor vehicle does not have motor fuel use tax credentials under IFTA,
a single trip permit to operate in lllinois must be obtained. A single trip permit may be
obtained upon proper application from the Department or its agents.

A single trip permit authorizes operation of a commercial motor vehicle for a single trip
into the State of lllinois,_through the State of Illinois, or from a point on the border of this
State to a point within and return to the border.

The fee for each single trip permit shall be $40 and the single trip permit is valid for a
period of 96 hours. This fee is in lieu of the tax and all reports required by Section
13a.3 of the Law, as well as the registration, decal display and furnishing of bond
required by Section 13a.4 of the Law. On and after January 1, 2013, prepurchased
single trip permits shall be applied for and the permit fees shall be paid electronically by
ACH debit in accordance with 86 Ill. Adm. Code 750.

The Director of the Department of Revenue, or his or her designee, may, upon
determining that a disaster exists in lllinois or in any other state, temporarily waive the
licensing requirements of this Section for commercial motor vehicles that travel through
lllinois for the purpose of assisting in disaster relief efforts. Temporary waiver of the
licensing requirements imposed in this Section shall not exceed a period of 30 days
from the date the Director temporarily waives the licensing requirements of this Section.
For purposes of this Section, a disaster includes flood, tornado, hurricane, fire,
earthquake, or any other disaster that causes or threatens loss of life or destruction or
damage to property of such a magnitude as to endanger the public health, safety and
welfare. The licensing requirements of this Section shall be temporarily waived only if
the operator of the commercial motor vehicle can provide proof by manifest that the
commercial motor vehicle is traveling through Illinois or returning to Illinois from a point
outside lllinois for purposes of assisting in disaster relief efforts. (Section 13a.4 of the
Law)

(Source: Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 6677, effective April 12, 2012)



